ugly history

The Funk Uglies were born of a number of different musical projects that included Jay Meikrantz on drums, Rick Pontalion on keys, Mike Towns on guitar, and Ryland Percy on bass. Having a deep love for everything funk, soul, and R&B, Rick, Jay, Mike and Ryland decided to put together a power funk group, and are ready to melt faces with the most ridiculicious, funkilicious, and groovelicious tunes known to man.

On any given night, The Uglies entertain crowds with tunes from Stevie Wonder, The Meters, Dr. John, The New Mastersounds, Orgone, and a whole host of other funk/soul/R&B classics, in addition to some original ugly takes on your favorite grooves. This is a show that is NOT to be missed, so ya'll come out and get you some!

ugly band members

jay meikrantz


drums, percussion, beats, random movie quotes

rick pontalion


keys, vocals, general mischief

mike towns, esq.


six-string electrified guitar, purveyor of positive attitudes

ryland percy


basses, vocals, knock-knock jokes, beer